The Great Gach Getaway: The Maldives

Most of the time when I travel, I am constantly comparing my trips with my friends and coworkers to see who had the most envious holiday. After visiting the Maldives this past Spring Break, I can confidently say that my holiday was one of the more envied ones on Facebook and it was awesome. Visiting the Maldives was at the top of my travel bucket list, so after conquering Japan for Christmas, Dan figured it only made sense to take care of it all in our first year abroad.  Getting to the Maldives from Singapore is only a 4 1/2 hour flight, and once you land in Male, you usually need to take a ferry or sea plane to your resort since most of them inhabit their own island. We ended up taking a sea plane to our resort, which was a short 20 minute flight over some beautiful sights.

DSC_1880

Enjoying a refreshing drink while waiting for our sea plane in our personal waiting lounge

On our sea plane to the Lux* Resort!

On our sea plane to the Lux* Resort!

View of our villas from our sea plane

View of our villas from our sea plane

It's like we were landing in Fantasy Island! #theplanetheplane

It’s like we were landing in Fantasy Island! #theplanetheplane

We stayed at the Lux* Resort on South Ari Atoll, and it was the most indulgent place I have ever stayed. From the moment we stepped off our sea plane, everywhere we turned seemed like it was straight out of a Pinterest travel board.

DSC_1910 DSC_1913 DSC_1915 DSC_1917

Once we were finally checked into the resort (by our own personal check-in man), we were whisked away to our decadent beach villa that we would be staying in for the week. We had our own entrance into the ocean, a gorgeous bathroom and views to die for.

DSC_1927 DSC_1928 DSC_1993

While we did do some relaxing, most of our trip was spent getting our 4 open waters dives complete in order to get our PADI Open Water Diver Certification. While Dan did wonderful from the start, I suffered from terrible anxiety every night because I have a terrible fear of drowning. Probably not a good idea to take on diving as a hobby with that as a fear, but I overcame it and got to see some incredible things on those dives. I wish we would have taken some video, but I don’t think it would have done it justice. Diving in the Maldives was like being in Finding Nemo; it was full of colorful fish, sea turtles, reef sharks and even 2 whale sharks! I have a feeling diving will not always be like that, so I feel very fortunate to have had that incredible experience. I leave you with some of my favorite photos from our week in the Maldives and hope everyone gets the opportunity to visit this stunning paradise once in their lives. More soon on our lives in Singapore!

DSC_2006 DSC_2021 DSC_2108 DSC_2115

2 thoughts on “The Great Gach Getaway: The Maldives

Leave a Reply

