Tekka Centre

Anyone that knows Daniel and I personally, knows that we love Tekka Centre. Tekka Centre is our neighborhood wet market, where most locals and some expats get their groceries in Singapore. I have written in the past about what a difference shopping at a wet market is compared to the expat grocery stores here like Cold Storage or Fair Price, but Tekka is really a place you have to experience in person to understand what it truly is.

Yes, Tekka Centre can be smelly, steamy, and sticky, but I wouldn’t change a thing about it. It is truly the one place where Daniel and I get to interact with the locals and feel like we are locals as well. The people running their stands know us, tease us, tell us what to cook, and make us smile. Who wouldn’t want to see those people every week?

Since all of you can’t come with Tekka Centre with us every week, I felt like I had to make some kind of a film for people to get a visual idea of what it is like. I was fortunate enough to have not only Daniel with me that day, but our lovely cousin Brianna who was traveling through before she goes to Africa for some volunteer work. You can follow her at her blog here. I hope this video helps you understand our love of Tekka and motivates you to visit if you come to Singapore!

2 thoughts on “Tekka Centre

  1. This comment has nothing to do with the post but I just want to say that I have spent the last couple of hours reading every single post and I WANT TO BE FRIENDS! Kidding.. but not really. We just moved (some would say ‘back’) from NYC and trawling expat blogs has been the MO of late. I’ve added you to my reader – hope to bump into you in Tekka – it’s a short walk from what will be our new neighbourhood too.

    • Hi Usha! So glad you are enjoying the blog, I am always surprised when people read it 🙂 I am always up to meeting new friends from my blog, my 2 best friends here I met from WordPress. When you move to the new neighborhood, let me know and we can meet up. My email is anamaria.gach@gmail.com. Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

